I really like the music but…

DJ-Popcorn-1-cropped-DjangoIn my never-ending listening to CD’s of the kindie kind for review here on the blog this one left me in a bit of a quandary. D is for Django  by Django Jones  (3 former members of Girlyman)has really good songs with solid songwriting, vocals and musical arrangements.  Well worth listening too. The problem is the not so great narration filling in between songs which I found really unnecessary and distracting.  A couple would have been ok, but between each song becomes overworked and superfluous.  The good news is we live a digital age and eliminating the narration is pretty easy to do as the music itself is DJ-Breakfast-1excellent.  The opening song All That I See is direct, poignant and I love the xylophone and harmonies (strong throughout the CD). Counterpoint is a really cool lesson on explaining harmonies to the listener.  The CD then closes with two terrific Lullabies one of which is aptly named- Lullabies.  The other  gem with its orchestral feel, nature sounds, simple lyrics and soaring harmonies  is Long Time Sun.  Just a  great closing ballad. So go buy the D is for Django 72dpiCD, skip by the narration parts and enjoy some great music.  That’s what I do.  The music is worth the trip.  Go support a kindie artist today!     This CD was provided free to the reviewer but the opinions expressed here are his own.

One response to “I really like the music but…

  1. I would tend to agree with you EXCEPT I have a concept album, “Your ImaginEngine!” which takes the listeners on a journey through their imaginations, visiting a zoo, outer space, going out for Chinese food, traveling to Ireland. I have narration between each song tying the journey together, but each song stands on its own. This album won a Seal of Excellence from Creative Child Magazine so someone out there must agree with the concept. There is a place for recorded narration on a music CD so I would not make a blanket statement.