Discovering the New and Appreciating the Familiar

Mo Phillips MONSTER SUIT Cover Art 300 dpi[1]

I’ve been sorting my Kindie CD collection because I have been given the go ahead to start a CD Library at my children’s school (which will be a post here soon).  While sorting and returning CD’s to their jacket I found the Mo Phillips CD Monster Suit hidden in a drawer.  This CD garnered a bit a press because of the song The Princess and the Cowboy which discusses how it’s ok for boys to be princesses and girls to be cowboys.  That’s all fine and good but wouldn’t matter if it was a bad CD.  It is anything but… While the lyrics are definitely for a younger set the music is smart indie pop inspired goodness.  I love the Chris Issac inspired Big Red Truck, the witty Ducks Don’t Get Wet and the childhood inspired, fiddle groovin’ genius Hot Lava.   Mo has put out a gem and you should go check it out.  Monster Suit is of the best sounding CD’s I’ve heard this year.   Sorry I’m late to this dance (released in 2012) but this is one worth the listen.

 

Brady is one of our favorite artists (we like his family too!) and unsung Kindie artist extraordinaire.  Brady Rymer and the Little Band That Could released a BradyRymerJustSayHinew CD this year called Just Say Hi!.  Once again he put out another all ages music gem called Just Say Hi!  Never cloying, always smart I would best describe his music as joyful.  From the opening horn section on the title track Just Say Hi! to the Cajun inspired My Home the songs can’t help but put you in a good mood. Many a dance party in our house has happened with this CD.  So go check it out! The do yourself a favor and next time Brady’s in your town go catch his show for he’s one of the best live performers I have ever seen. You’ll thank me later.  These are two great CD’s so go and buy them.  Support an independent artist today!

Comments are closed.