Old school stereo appreciation month.

 

kenwood2

We are in the digital age of music and it’s a mixed blessing. As a consumer you can get most any song at anytime at minimal effort.  MP3 players allow us to hold thousand of songs at our finger tips.  It is the age of music miracles for the listener.  For the artist who has trouble getting paid for their product it’s different story but this is not the focus of this article.  I sit now in my basement having recently rediscovered how good music sounds on my old stereo system.  My Kenwood receiver/amplifier, garage sale obtained 3D Acoustics speakers, CD playerPioneer 100 disc CD player and a LXI series cassette deck. I have recently purchased a Dual record player as the previous one must have been sold or given away (A minor tragedy rectified at a flea market).   Two months ago I was cleaning the basement where said speakers are and was amazed at the depth of sound those towering speakers provided.  In todays digital world we get more music but are getting less in terms of sound quality.  MP3 files tend to be small and lack the megabytes to give you the full sound.  (Sound Quality of Music Lacking in the MP3 Era).   My daughter just walked in and turned up the volume and the discs keep spinning. Chris Issac, The Boogers, Cheap Trick (Live at Bhudokan),budokan Creed (guilty pleasure), Jim Cosgrove, Johnny Clegg, James Hunter, John Hiatt and many artists I’ve forgotten.  The list continues with lots of full  bass, mid and treble. Once a week it seems I head to the basement whether I’m organizing or not,  just to listen to music in a proper format.   While typing I just discovered a Train song called Swaying (Train) crucial bluesfollowed by one of our kindie faves Doctor Noize (The Ballad of Phineas McBoof).  Go check out your old speakers and you’ll rediscover the SOUND.  Now excuse me my kids have just discovered a CD new to them and are  jamming to some harmonicaBalladofPhineasMcBoofCDandBookCover driven blues (Crucial Harmonica Blues). Junior Wells and Billy Branch are killing it in full sound and we’re having a dance party (Mom included)! Don’t forget to support an independent artist today!

3 responses to “Old school stereo appreciation month.

  1. Cool. I remember I had this stereo for years. It was one of those big old systems. I don’t remember when I got rid of it. I do remember buying it though – it was one of the biggest purchases I had ever made up to that point in my life.