The Song and the Process. Coconut Radio by Recess Monkey.

RECESS-MONKEY-DESERT-ISLAND-DISC_72

I should mention here that the School Break Primates have a a new release coming out Tomorrow, June 17th!!! Their new CD WIRED is really amazing. But I’m not here to talk about WIRED.  This conversation is a long time coming.  A while back I had a Recess Monkey tune I could not get out of my head called Coconut Radio off of Desert Island disc.  Being that Drew Holloway is the primary Recess Monkey writer an inquiry was made to discuss this tune with him on The song and the Process here on the blog.  Well imagine my surprise when he sent me to talk to Jack Forman recess monkey framingas he was the author of this tune.  I did manage a great conversation with Drew which you can read here (What I Was Gonna write…) but always wanted to talk to Jack.  We have finally arrived to talk about the Gilligan’s Island ( an old TV show) inspired Coconut Radio here on The Song and the Process…  Jack Foreman and his uke found the music while hanging around playing on his front porch.  Just a series of chords that found a home.  Nothing planned it really just appeared.  He was learning the Ukulele at the time and found a little magic while banging on his instrument.  So he has this great little melody and it needs some words.  They  weren’t so easy.  That took a bit of doing but he had the Desert/ Gilligan’s Island theme to work with it. If you know the show it was always the professor who could build anything with what was at hand (and had in fact made a coconut battery).  After a few months of working out the lyrics gems like this came around…

“First take a coconut off the ground
Split it open and listen to the sound
That it makes up to your ear
Now fill it up with unspecified electric gear”

   … Two ukes, a bit of singing and they were done. That’s when Korums brother Jherek Bischoff gets a hold of the song.  Let me see what I can add he tells the boys…   It sounds like he added a full orchestral string section!  Jack assures me it was only 3 or 4 players with lots of overdubs. Violin, viola, cello and bass he tells me.  It’s just amazing. In my mind it’s a symphony.  A bit of Brian Wilson magic which the whole CD is full of but do yourself a favor. Go check out this great tune on a great disc.  Then go out and purchase WIRED tomorrow.  Then dance a lot with your family and friends because that’s what we do when listening to Recess Monkey.  GO support a kindie artist today.

WIRED Cover Art_Recess Monkey_72 dpi

Comments are closed.