Grammy event and a couple shows

recording_academy_logo_lConsidering I took a full tumble off an invisible step while walking over to the venue  I had quite a night at the Grammy Member Celebration (in conjunction with the Chicago Music Summit).  Friday was the main event with all sorts of panels and free music  (alas parenting gets in the way again plus I promised my son I’d play some guitar for his class which was a lot of fun even if I don’t play “Wheels on the Bus”. Gotta learn it.)   But I digress  Thursday was the opening night and meet and greet at the Hard Rock Hotel.carbide hr  I went there to meet people, learn a little and promote the new CD and upcoming release party Sunday, September 29th at 2pm at Schubas (another shameless plug).  There is also another artist having a CD release party on the same day who called me out about it at the party.  Seems another “little” known kindie artist named Justin Roberts has a gig earlier that day  mentioned to me how I didn’t post it on my local gigs chart. So to be fair  next Sunday you can see the…

Poochamungas at Schubas on September 29th at 2pm with Koo Koo Kanga Roo

or

Justin Roberts and the Not Ready for Naptime Players CD release of Recess is being held at S.P.A.C.E in Evanston at 11am.

Now  I feel better.  The event was filled with some interesting people . I had a really quick but insightful conversation with David Dufresne CEO of Bandzoogle in the lobby.   His diagnosis of the service I use was spot on.  He was on a panel the next day that I couldn’t attended (parenting thing).  People could show their web site and then the panel critiqued them.  Something of a band site beat down!  I so would of volunteered my site and been there just to learn as this is something I could use some professional insight.  Another conversation I had was with Dmitri Vietze of StoryAmp.  It’s a site for artists who can’t afford PR and gives them the tools to reach journalists in their genre.  If your  DIY marketing your band this is something to seriously check out.  I thought it a brilliant idea mind you that if you can afford a good publicist they are priceless. I stress the good part. I also ran into fellow kids music artist Zak Morgan from Cincinnati who was there meeting, greeting and working the room. He’s a former Grammy nominee as well which is pretty cool! I also talked to Ralph Coverts right hand man Rob Gillis about the Windy Kindie get together (I’ll keep you posted). Saw but didn’t get the chance to talk to Ralph.  A nice conversation with Columbia College student Nick Christian who has already produced, plays guitar, trombone and others I can’t remember at the young age of 20. (seriously!)   Learned of a recording space out in Crystal Lake thanks to Jonathan Alvin called Chrome Attic Studios. From his description and what I see on their web page it looks amazing and his rates are competitive as well! There were others met and beers drank and laughs had.  I had a really nice time, learned a few things and met some fellow Academy members.  Thanks Grammy’s!  You through another fun event.

Comments are closed.