The word is out and a song I wish I had written

The word has gotten out that we here at A man, a band and a plan…  are reviewing songs and CD’s.  The good news is that someone is reading our blog.  That’ I am successfully spreading the word of kindie which is part of the reason I write here.  But now Publicists and bands are sending me material as well.  The bad news is I now have more stuff to review and listen too. Up till now most of the kids music I listened to was acquired via CD swap.  One of mine for one of theirs.  Especially at the now defunct kindiefest.  The Poochamungas have traded with the likes of Joanie Leeds, Little Miss Ann, Johnny Bregar, Kurt Gallagher, The Hipwaders, Joanie Leeds, The Boogers, Rollie Pollie Guacamole, Story Laurie, Recess Monkey, The Not-Its,  and many others.  This is a great way to build a childrens music library of high quality tunes.  Plus no pressure to listen right away.   We here at Poochamungas HQ like listening to lots of  music and to buy all that music would be cost prohibitive. But now they are mailing CD’s with expectations!  The pressure oh my goodness… THE PRESSURE!!! (a bit overdramatic)   As Ross Perot used to say “Here’s the deal  We promise to give everything a listen.  If it’s exceptional we shall review it.  Whether it’s a song, CD art or the entire package.  Excellence should be its own reward but we’ll gonna try to help spread the word on this thing we call kindie.  Plus I’ll try to spread the word on works you may not have heard of but are excellent and should be heard.  That’s the deal.  So to get started…

Groovin in the garden

groovin in the garden

As I type this I’m listening to a CD by Laurie McIntosh aka… Story Laurie.  I acquired it while hanging with a bunch of  musicians, on a beautiful Brooklyn night, hotel rooftop, during kindiefest (cue sad music).   The CD is solid with a mixture of traditional songs and originals (Dean Jones produced) but the song I really like is Grandma Said. Just a Uke,  groovy bass line for attitude,  drum shuffle and Lauries  knowing vocals.  This is a song that takes you to moments remembered with Grandma.  A child asking thousands of questions and Grandma not knowing. Which is ok because someone  is listening which is what kids really want.  Someone to be interested.  The close of the song is perfects as Laurie sings Grandma saying “But Those were the best questions she’d ever heard”.  Nice affirmation and it’s a song I wish I had written. So go to the link below and by the song. Buy the CD.  Support artists so they can continue to make music for us to enjoy! 

http://www.storylaurie.com/buy-now.html

Comments are closed.