Dreams of a Gold Gramophone… more of the process of making and selling a CD

Grammy dreamsNow that the new CD is done, packaged and on it’s way it is time to enter it into various programs to be judged.  This is one of the many ways to get exposure so more people become aware of the music.  We have entered into the National Parenting Publication Awards and one other, but the one I’m really want to enter is the GRAMMY AWARDS now that I am a voting member and allowed an entry.  Because my CD is brilliant! It is sure win over the voters and Poochamungas shall walk upon that stage just like the Okee Dokee Brothers did last year…  So goes the scenario in my and many other artists head. The truth of the matter is while the band has had a small amount of success. Not a lot of people know who and what are the Poochamungas.  When I mentioned entering the CD for the Grammy to my publicist Elizabeth Waldman Frazier (Waldmania!) in a email she politely replied that our time and investment (this becomes a marketing thing unto itself) is placed better elsewhere at this point in our career.  That is a painfully honest thing to say.  I won’t say it didn’t hurt a little bit to read in the email, but she is absolutely correct.  Which is one of the reasons I hired her.  Because I have to look no further to fellow artist Brady Rymer and the BRILLIANT (so good it deserves caps!) Love Me For Who I Am.  The fact that it didn’t win is OK, even understandable. The fact it failed to be a nominee was a travesty.  It truly was one of the best written, musically performed CD’s I heard that whole year (2011).  Then you include the fact he wrote it about autism with help and ideas from people with autism, it’s astounding.  On top of that Brady is one of the best live performers  you’ve ever seen in any kind of musical forum and has played all across the country. That leaves little room for Poochamungas getting a nod.  Not that the CD isn’t good enough because I definitely believe so.  It’s just not the only criteria it’s being judged upon.  Maybe the next one we take a shot at the ol’ gold gramophone.   Till then you just keep grinding away at it.

Comments are closed.