Songs I Wish I had Written

This weeks song is a beautifully written song about hanging out on the Mississippi River by a couple of guys who fooled the who world by letting them think they were buying a children’s music CD but really got an album of great American Folk music or as Poochamungas say “Good Music Knows No Age.”  The fact it went on to win the Children’s Grammy was well-earned. While there are many great songs on The Okee Dokee Brothers CD like the title Track Can you Canoe?, Haul Away Joe, and Brother. CYC_cover_wGrammy The song I wish I had written is Thousand Star Hotel.  It’s a simple but eloquent song about camping on the banks of the Mississippi.  Starting out with a simple banjo, unfolding to a full orchestral sound and then back to the banjo (produced by Dean jones). It takes you on a complete journey in under two minutes. ” I’m sleeping in a Thousand Star Hotel, Gold leaf pillow for my head, feel like a king on a king sized river bed.”  Those are the only words. They set the scene and the music takes you to the grand splendor of a perfect evening along the Mississippi.  One of the cool things about this song is there’s a video of them writing the song and going through the process.  So go check out the video here and buy the CD.   We’ll find another great song soon for Songs I Wish I had Written.

Comments are closed.