Don’t let the hate win

Our prayer are with the victims and the first responders in Boston today.

Our prayer are with the victims and the first responders in Boston today.

My heart stops every time I read a headline like todays.  The senseless violence towards  innocents because of real or perceived injustices just needs to stop.  It won’t.  At least not in my lifetime.  Because of my job as a firefighter I’ve had plenty of opportunity to see the results of hatred toward ones fellow human beings.  Details I won’t go into but have been indelibly imbedded in my mind forever.  The evil today is doubly shameful because of what the Boston Marathon represents.  The struggle people go through just to run and finish such an event taken away by someone or a group who’s hatred has blinded them to the joy of such a day so much so that they wanted to impart their fear and hatred on the event.  Well don’t let them.  Let us shed tears for the victims and rejoice in their lives.  Let us hug our kids, tell our parents we love them and sing silly songs.  We should be diligent in our pursuit of justice and preventing those that do us harm from ever doing it again. But remember to keep joy in your heart and never, ever let the hate win.

2 responses to “Don’t let the hate win

  1. Wonderful post.
    Thank you for being willing to do a job where you put your life on the line. Where do you work?

  2. Thank you. I work in Chicago