Coopertition: the nature of the business

Four new songs off of our Upcoming CD!

Four new songs off of our Upcoming CD!

Coopetition or Co-opetition (sometimes spelled “coopertition” or “co-opertition”) is a neologism coined to describe cooperative competition. Coopetition is a portmanteau of cooperation and competition.”  So it says in wilkepedia. I first heard it used by a woman here in Chciago.  It is a pretty good term to describe what it is to try and get gigs and radio play all the while wondering why someone elses CD is getting played and NOT MINE and  yet at the same time appreciating the excellence of other artists.  The simple fact is there are only so many gigs to go around and someone is bound to get left behind.  This also means that you cannot play every gig everywhere so others are going to need to fill in those other slots as well.  It is in the nature of artists to self promote hard because until you hire a publicist or gather a following of substance no one is going to do it for you. This can lead to a bit of tunnel vision.  Because you can promote only so much and call for only so many gigs as there are only so many hour in the day (This is in addition to most of us have working full time jobs with families.) Plus in the last blog I mentioned the face with a name. The booking manager may not know you but a word from a fellow musician they do know can help.   It’s nice to get a little help.  So I have made it a rule to help fellow musicians I like and respect so long as they do the same in return.  Have a gig in an area I have friends I’m sure to send a message or email to them.  Sure to pass your event along on facebook.  If your coming to Chicago and I can help get a gig or bring more fans to the show excellent.  But when my new song or CD  comes out and I ask you to promote it and I get no response or a “sure thing” with no action.  I take note.  When I ask about gigs in your area and get the silent treatment.    I’m not gonna hunt you down or send multible emails or badmouth you on facebook.    I will stop liking your band.  I will not recommend you for gigs.  I firmly believe in what comes around goes around.  Thankfully most people in the kids music business are pretty decent folk.  So while I’m trying like hell right now to promote my new CD and get new gigs I  try to help those that I can at the same time and yet understand that they’re gonna get some gig that I’m not. I’m not gonna say that doens’t cause frustration sometimes.  But I’m trying to be a big picture guy and avoid getting tunel vision.  So while I’m pushing hard for the Poochamungas I just went and saw a Gustafer Yellowgold

Just went  to his Schubas show.

Just went to his Schubas show.

show (cool, quirky songs and great animation).  Even posted it on Facebook to let my friends know.  Also a big fan of the new Not-It’s CD called Kidquake.

Great new CD by the Not Its!

Great new CD by the Not Its!

So go visit their websites and have a listen and don’t forget to listen to the new songs we have posted over on Reverbnation (a little self promotion) and try to see the big picture.  I know I’m trying.

Comments are closed.