Lots has happened, lots to come and always something to fix!

So due to good fortune, timing and a Mother-in-law who was willing to watch the kids my wife and I  were able to make a trip to NEW ZEALAND!!!   My friend Nick was getting married and invited us to the big day.  What a way to start the new year!!  So off to Kiwiland we were and what a trip it was.  From Aukland to Taranaki and Rotorua and back.  Great views, nice people and lots to do including a ferry to Wahiki (great food and wine at the Mudbrick), swimming in the Tasman Sea (stung by a jellyfish) and visiting geothermic geysers and lakes (Waiotapu).   I will say that when we return in the future we will be bringing the kids along and stay for longer than a week!

A little soap and Kaploey!

A little soap and Kaploey!

Our view of Auckland Harbour

Our view of Auckland Harbour

IMG_20130111_075114

The morning walk

The morning walk

              So while I have just returned from NZ next month I will be attending the Grammy’s in LA!  All I can say at this point is this is Awesome!!!  I will be going with my friend Jeff Bogle who writes one of my favorite blogs called Out With The Kids.  If you want to know what is currently good in Kids music and music in general I highly recommend his work.   He also does game reviews and writes for Time Out Kids NY as well.  So with him I shall witness my first Grammy awards and more importantly get to see who gets the Childrens Grammy.  This is exciting because The Pop Ups, Bill Harley, Elizabeth Mitchell and our friends The Okee Dokee Brothers are all up for the award.  I have met Bill and seen him perform and he and his nominated CD High Dive are outstanding.  I was lucky enough to catch the Pop Ups at Kindiefest two years ago and they are fantastic and their nomination well earned.  While I am a big fan of Elizabeth Mitchell I have yet to see her perform or meet her but since they are having a show in LA before the Grammy’s I intend to correct that and as for the Okee Dokees…  You can read what I have to say about their CD Can you Canoe? right here…  So Look for me February 10th.  I”ll be way, wayyyyy up in the cheap seats.  If you see me wave and I promise to wave back… 

In the world of Poochamungas we are now in the mixing and overdub stage.  We have recorded 14 songs and now need to add and fix  things as they are needed.  This is very exciting.  I think you the fan are going to be very happy by our efforts because I know I am very pleased with the work so far.  See you all soon!

Comments are closed.