Bad opinions, counting my blessings and thanks!

So if you follow the kids music scene here on the internet recently a debate on the value of kids music was held on WHYY’s Radio Times regarding the value of kids music. Music Critic Tom Moon (1000 recordings to hear before you die) “hates, hates” kids music by his own definition and Jeff Bogle of Out with the Kids is a kindie music, toy and movie reviewer.  Tom feels if you aim your music toward a certain group it somehow limits the listener and that “adult” music is fine.  I could go onto great length why Tom is wrong but Jeff and also Stefan on Zooglooble have gone to great length to explain this. Just because you write for a certain genre (blues, rock, pop, country, soul, funk, punk, children) doesn’t lessen the value of said song and truly great songs will separate themselves from said genre.  I write songs with a kids slant but I write music for ALL to hear.

2011 was a really tough year for a lot of people.   A bad economy with no jobs.   Earthquakes, floods, tornadoes and the destruction Mother Nature causes frightening in its reality.  The things man does in the name of god, religion, greed and power even more frightening.  I hope all of those who experienced loss and tragedy are able to find peace and love this year.  We experienced loss in our family this year close to home and  in spite of my own losses this year I am thankful for the family and friends I have who love and support me no matter what.  Thankful for wife and kids, the house we live in and the life we are able to live.  Thankful for the opportunity to play the music I write and find people who are willing to help see those songs come to life.

So thanks to my wife who supports me in these adventures.  Thanks to my parents who raised me right with love, support and the occasional kick in the rear and my other family and friends who have done the same. Thanks to my kids who show me everyday how to love and be loved selflessly.  Thanks to the band who make the Poochamungas possible and take the fledgling songs I write and make them real.  And of course thanks to you the reader for taking the time to read this.  Thank you all and god bless everyone.  May 2012 be a really good year.

Comments are closed.